Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.Here is the complete list of padma  Vibhushan awardees for the year 2016.

Padma Vibhushan:

The Padma Vibhushan is the second highest civilian award of the Republic of India, preceded by Bharat Ratna and followed by Padma Bhushan. Instituted on 2 January 1954, the award is given for “exceptional and distinguished service”, without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex.The award criteria include “service in any field including service rendered by Government servants” including doctors and scientists, but excludes those working with the public sector undertakings.

The Padma Vibhushan awardees for the year 2016 are:

  • Rajinikanth:

Rajinikanth, is one of the most popular film personalities in India. The superstar who works mostly in Tamil films has also acted in other industries including Hollywood, Hindi, Bengali. He was honoured with the Padma Bhushan in 2000, his real name is Shivaji Rao Gaekwad.

  • Ramoji Rao:

He is the owner of Ramoji Group, the world’s largest film production facility Ramoji Film City in Hydarabad and film production company Ushakiran Movies.

  • Jagmohan:

Jagmohan was born on September 25, 1927, in the railway colony of Cheecho Ki Malian (West Pakistan), known by the mononym Jagmohan, is a retired civil servant, former Lieutenant Governor Delhi, Goa, Governor Jammu & Kashmir.He was honoured with Padma Shri in 1971 and the Padma Bhushan in 1977.

  • Shri Shri Ravi Shankar:

Ravi Shankar, commonly known as Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, was born on 13 May 1956 in Tamil Nadu, India. He is a spiritual leader and founder of the Art of Living Foundation created in 1981, which aims to relieve individual stress, societal problems, and violence. In 1997, he established a Geneva-based charity, the International Association for Human Values, an NGO that engages in relief work and rural development and aims to foster shared global values.

  • Yamini Krishnamurthy:

Mungara Yamini Krishnamurthy (born 20 December 1940) is an eminent Indian dancer of Bharatnatyam and Kuchipudi styles of dancing.

  • Girija Devi:

Girija Devi (born May 8, 1929) is an Indian classical singer of the Banaras gharana. She performs classical and light classical music and has helped elevate the profile of thumri.

  • V K Aatre:

Dr. Vasudev Kalkunte Aatre (born 1939) is an Indian Scientist and former head of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), India’s premier Defence R&D Organization. In that capacity, he also served as the Scientific Advisor to the Defence Minister (Raksha Mantri).

  • Dhirubhai Ambani:

Dhirajlal Hirachand “Dhirubhai” Ambani  was an Indian business tycoon who founded Reliance Industries in Bombay with his cousin.He was honored posthumously with the Padma Vibhushan

  • Avinash Dixit:

Avinash Dixit is an Indian-American economist and the author of a number of books in economics.

  • Viswanathan Shanta:

Dr.V. Shanta is a prominent Cancer specialist and the Chairperson of Adyar Cancer Institute, Chennai. Her career has included organizing care for cancer patients and research in the prevention and cure of the disease.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email